EBIT ASSOCIATES
ADVISED HAWK LABORATORIES, INC.
AND ITS SUBSIDIARY
BEAUTIFUL FINISHES, INC.
ON ITS SALE TO
KESTREL CAPITAL GROUP

For IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CHICAGO – March 18, 2016 – EBIT Associates, a leading Illinois-registered, lower middle-market investment bank with several accredited association member firms, announced today that it advised Hawk Laboratories, Inc. and its subsidiary Beautiful Finishes, Inc. (“Hawk”) in its sale to an affiliate of Kestrel Capital Group (“Kestrel”), for an undisclosed amount in cash.

Headquartered in Wood Dale, Illinois, Hawk (www.hawklabs.com) is a leading supplier of bathtub, tile, countertop and kitchen cabinet refinishing paints and coatings used for residential, commercial and industrial painting applications worldwide. Beautiful Finishes (www.beautifulfinishes.com) offer bathtub, tile, cabinet and countertop refinishing services.

Kestrel Capital Group (KCG) (www.kestrelcg.com) is a Chicago based private investment  firm with over 45 years of investing experience. KCG’s principals have completed hundreds of debt and equity financings for businesses across all stages of an enterprise’s life cycle. They prefer enterprises with an established or emerging leadership position whose products and services target growing end markets. KCG looks for businesses with EBITDA of $1.5 million or greater

“We are pleased that Kestrel Capital Group, Bill Harlan and Steve Vivian, who have visionary leadership and caliber with seasoned management, will take our company to the next level,” said Pete Mosier III, owner of Hawk Laboratories, Inc. and Beautiful Finishes, Inc. “KCG did everything they said they would do to ensure that the process moved quickly and to help me achieve my goals as a seller.”

Bryan Weber, an experienced business leader with chemical products background, took over as CEO of the organization following closing of the transaction.  Bryan commented “With an excellent reputation for high quality products, a well-recognized brand, a customer-focused team, and significant continued growth potential, this opportunity is an excellent fit for me and my long-term Partners at Kestrel Capital Group”.

Pete Mosier added, “We were very impressed by the work that EBIT Associates performed on our behalf.  They ran an excellent transaction process while maintaining the highest standards throughout.  From a process and valuation perspective, the firm’s expertise, guidance and support served our goals especially well.”

Todd Cushing, Principal of EBIT Associates, added, “It was a pleasure working with Pete Mosier, and the Hawk management team with their excellent niche products and services for their high quality leading supplier of bathtub, tile, countertop and kitchen cabinet refinishing paints and coatings.”

About EBIT Associates

EBIT Associates, a leading Illinois-registered, lower middle-market investment bank headquartered in Chicago, Illinois with offices in Iowa, Florida, Texas and China.  Founded in 1999, EBIT Associates provides financial advisory services to lower middle market companies throughout the world, supporting client needs principally in the areas of merger and acquisitions advisory, valuations, financial restructurings, and capital.  EBIT Associates is also members of several associations, exclusive global organizations of leading merger and acquisition advisory firms.  More information is available at www.ebitassociates.com

###

Media Inquiries:

Richard Cushing, Business Director EBIT (847)-566-0500 X 251, rcushing@ebitassociates.com

For Transaction Related Inquiries:

Todd Cushing, Principal EBIT (847)-566-0500 X 201, tcushing@ebitassociates.com

Ted Humphrey, Growth Consultant EBIT 847-566-0500 X 253, thumphrey@ebitassociates.com

Jim Johnson, Managing Director EBIT (847)-566-0500 X 255, jjjohnson@ebitassociates.com

Paul Klinge, Managing Director EBIT (847)-566-0500 X 256, pklinge@ebitassociates.com

Scott Miller, Partner EBIT (847)-566-0500 X 250, smiller@ebitassociates.com

Alan Minks, Managing Director EBIT (847)566-0500 X 258, aminks@ebitassociates.com

Zeeshan Salehjee, Associate Director EBIT (847)-566-0500 X 252, zsalehee@ebitassociates.com

Monty Walker Tax/Exit Expert Director (847-566-0500 X 257, mwalker@ebitassociates.com

Translate »